Scholarship Donors

Underwriter (\$3000 or More)

Aureon Brig Gen David A. Cotton, USAF (Ret) Jane Ann Cotton G David Hurd & Trudy Hollman Hurd Fund Cliff Paulsen Fund Polk County Iowa

Host (\$1000 to \$2999)

Bruce Carr & Bob Thelen Tom Coppess & Mike Koch Rick Gubbels & Tracy Lewis

Advocate (\$500 to \$999)

Kevin Chorniak Scott Dean Ken Hanson & Wade Petersen Brad Holland & Joe Raetz Byron Huff & Jim Anderson Michael & Debbie Hubbell Larry & Sharon Huff Bill Jackson & Larry Barnett Tim McMillin & Seth Robb William Mark & Janet Rosenbury Martha Smith Jim Sterba Mark & Charlene Vukovich David Wilfahrt Jonathan Wilson & Scott Kuknyo

Supporter (\$250 to \$499)

Peg Armstrong-Gustafson Mark Bienhoff & Troy Zwart Christopher Correy Rick Davis Deborah Gitchell Matt Hiatt & Paul Pettinger Gary Moore Patti Pierce George & Mary Richardson Michael Simonson David & Denise Swartz



Honors (\$100 to \$249)

Rich Banyard Roger Bishop Don & Margo Blumenthal John & Barbara Buck **Travis Correll** David Feinberg James & Shelia Hourigan **Richard Joens & Scott Smith** Dr. James & Mary Ellen Kimball Mark Koskamp Randv Kramer Todd & Ashlea Lantz Richard Latch Deb Madison-Levi John & Cyril Ann Mandelbaum Matt McCov Joan Middleton Arthur Neis Tim Schreck John Steig Tim & Toni Urban Lewis Vande Voort **Robert Warren** Ivan & Ann Webber Cean Wilson

Other Donors (Up to \$100)

John Brentnall Frank & Marilyn Carroll Tom & Margaret Chase John & Terri Hale Harold Hinkhouse Jessica Meisinger

General Fund Donors

(via United Way)

Kevin Chorniak Paul E. Dark, Jr. Ken Hanson & Wade Petersen Paulina Ann Massey

In-Kind Services

Ascendant Wealth Management Brig Gen David A. Cotton, USAF (Ret) Brad Holland & Joe Raetz John Schmacker Nicholas Williams

Fundraising Period: May 2021 - April 2022



Scholarship Awards Ceremony

Friday, June 3 7:00 a.m. Hoyt Sherman Place Des Moines, Iowa

> Speaker: Mark Turnage Iowa Safe Schools



Welcome!

First Friday Breakfast Club welcomes you

this morning to help us honor 12 amazing Iowa high school seniors who have made a difference in their schools and communities to promote LGBTQ+ acceptance. We celebrate these students for standing up as role models in showing others their authentic selves. Bravo!

First Friday Breakfast Club



FFBC is an educational, non-profit group for gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer men. Members and guests gather the first Friday of every month for breakfast, fellowship, and a speaker. As Iowa's largest independent breakfast club, we are active, dynamic, and

engaging. We educate ourselves on LGBTQ+ and other issues in a safe and supportive environment. We contribute to a variety of community organizations. FFBC works to reduce prejudice and discrimination. The FFBC scholarship is funded through the generous contributions of our members and supporters in both the LGBTQ+ and straight communities.

The Scholarship Selection Process

Scholarships are awarded to outstanding lowa high school seniors who have distinguished themselves with significant efforts to counter homophobia, promote LGBTQ+ acceptance, and educate their schools and communities on LGBTQ+ issues. Academic achievement and extra-curricular activities are also considered.

About the Scholarship

One-time scholarships of at least **\$3,000** are awarded. Scholarships are paid in two installments upon receipt of the student's proof of enrollment. Awards are made without regard to gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, race, or religion.

2021-22 Scholarship Committee

Tim Schreck (Chair), C.D. Adamson, David Cotton, Ryan Crane, Ken Hanson, Rick Miller, Phil Williams

Scholarship Winners

Jackson Bloodsworth

Davenport Central High School / Underwriter: Cliff Paulsen Fund

Elizabeth Boese

Treynor High School

G Ellerbroek

Waverly-Shell Rock High School / Underwriter: Aureon

Hannah King

Moulton-Udell High School Underwriter: G David Hurd & Trudy Hollman Hurd Fund

Iris Mackenzie

Grinnell High School

Taylor Mayhue North Scott High School

Abby McLeod Nevada High School

Matthew Monsivais Ankeny Centennial High School / Underwriter: Polk County, Iowa

> Ellis Montgomery Grinnell High School

Molly Moorhead Perry High School / Underwriter: David A. Cotton

> Alaynah Rieck Center Point-Urbana High School

Estella J. Ruhrer-Johnson Sioux City East High School / Underwriter: Jane Ann Cotton