Scholarship Donors

Underwriter (\$3000 or More)

Phil Brawner & Ted Johnson
Bruce Carr & Robert Thelen
John Charles & David Nelson
Brig. Gen. David A. Cotton, USAF (Ret)
Jane Ann Cotton
G. David Hurd & Trudy Holman Hurd Fund
Cliff Paulsen Fund
Community Betterment Grant through
the Polk County Board of Supervisors

Host (\$1000 to \$2999)

Jim Anderson & Byron Huff Charles Carnes Fund Tom Coppess & Mike Koch Rick Gubbels & Tracy Lewis Ken Hanson & Wade Petersen Matt Hiatt & Paul Pettinger

Advocate (\$500 to \$999)

Mark Bienhoff & Troy Zwart
Margo & Don Blumenthal
Kevin Chorniak
Scott Dean
Jim Flansburg
Sharon & Larry Huff
Scott Kuknyo & Jonathan Wilson
Gene Larson & David Phelps
Gary Moore
Martha Smith
Jim Sterba
James Tatro & Dan Venker
Charlene & Mark Vukovich
David Wilfahrt

Supporter (\$250 to \$499)

Peg Armstrong-Gustafson
Larry Barnett & Bill Jackson
Roger Bishop
Christopher Correy
Kurtis Denison & Robert Warren
Deborah Gitchell
Debbie & Michael Hubbell
Patti Pierce
Mary & George Richardson
Janet & William Mark Rosenbury
Chris Russell
Michael Simonson
Denise & David Swartz
Susan & Carl Voss
Jerry Vroegh

Honors (\$100 to \$249)

Rich Banvard Margaret & Tom Chase Alicia & David Claypool Travis Correll **Bryan Crowder David Feinberg Harold Hinkhouse** Richard Joens & Scott Smith Mary Ellen & James Kimball Fred Lewis Donna MacNeir Deb Madison-Levi Cvril Ann & John Mandelbaum Matt McCoy Joan Middleton Susan & Brian Moorhead Tim Schreck Toni & Tim Urban Ann & Ivan Webber Craig Weltha Phil Williams Cean Wilson

Other Donors (Up to \$100)

Grace & Larry Anderson Heather A. Bartz John Brentnall Barbara & John Buck Marilyn & Frank Carroll Tom Chase & Daniel Palmer Nathan Coombes & Keith Wirtz Paul E. Dark Michael Egel Terri & John Hale Chuck Jordan Mary & Mark Kacere **Robin Kline & William Summers** Randall Kramer Paulina Ann Massev Steve Person

In-Kind Services

Anthologic
Ascendant Wealth Management
Brig. Gen. David A. Cotton, USAF (Ret)
Brad Holland & Joe Raetz
PC Print Center
John Schmacker
Nicholas Williams

Fundraising Period: May 2022 - April 2023





Welcome!

First Friday Breakfast Club welcomes you this morning to help us honor 14 amazing lowa high school seniors who have made a big difference in their schools and communities to promote LGBTQ+ acceptance. We celebrate these students for standing up as role models in showing others their authentic selves. Bravo!

First Friday Breakfast Club

FFBC is an educational, non-profit group for gay, bisexual, transgender men, and their allies. Members and guests gather the first Friday of every month for breakfast, fellowship, and a speaker. As lowa's largest independent breakfast club, we are active, dynamic, and engaging. We educate ourselves on LGBTQ+ and other issues in a safe and supportive environment. We contribute to a variety of community organizations. FFBC works to reduce prejudice and discrimination. The FFBC scholarship is funded through the generous contributions of our members and supporters in both the LGBTQ+ and straight communities.

The Scholarship Selection Process

Scholarships are awarded to outstanding Iowa high school seniors who have distinguished themselves with significant efforts to counter homophobia, promote LGBTQ+ acceptance, and educate their schools and communities on LGBTQ+ issues. Academic achievement and extra-curricular activities are also considered.

About the Scholarship

One-time scholarships of \$3,000 are awarded. Scholarships are paid in two installments upon receipt of the student's proof of enrollment. Awards are made without regard to gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, race, or religion.

2022-23 Scholarship Committee

Ken Hanson (Chair), David Cotton, Jim Flansburg, Chris Russell, Tim Schreck, and Phil Williams

Scholarship Winners

Max Cline

Cedar Rapids George Washington High School Underwriters: John Charles & David Nelson

Levi Cooper

Carlisle High School / Underwriter: Polk County Community Betterment Grant

Kendall Duit

Iowa Falls-Alden High School

Kenzie Fick

Roland-Story High School

Leo Friedman

Newton High School / Underwriter: David A. Cotton

Lilly Beth Froehlich

Waukee High School / Underwriters: Bruce Carr & Robert Thelen

Beatrice Goldberry

West Liberty High School / Underwriter: Trudy Holman Hurd

Jackson Kaune

Dallas Center-Grimes High School

Beau Kell

Cedar Rapids George Washington High School

Olivia Moody

North Polk High School / Underwriter: Jane Ann Cotton

Dallas Olberding

Mount Vernon High School / Underwriters: Phil Brawner & Ted Johnson

Ava Rossow

Des Moines Roosevelt High School

Dakota Walling

St. Ansgar High School

Noah Wasek

Marion High School