Scholarship Donors

Underwriter (\$3000+)

- Phil Brawner &
- **Ted Johnson** John Charles &
- **David Nelson**
- Brig. Gen. David A. Cotton, USAF (Ret)
- Jane Ann Cotton
- Brad Holland & Joe Raetz in memory of **Bonnie Holland**
- G. David Hurd & Trudy Holman Hurd Fund
- Community Betterment Grant through the Polk County Board of Supervisors

Host (\$1000 - \$2999)

- Jim Anderson & Byron Huff
- **Bruce Carr &** Robert Thelen
- Tom Coppess & Mike Koch
- Scott Dean
- Barbara & Michael Gartner
- **Rick Gubbels &** Tracy Lewis
- Ken Hanson &
- Wade Petersen Matt Hiatt &
- Paul Pettinger
- Gene Larson & **David Phelps**
- Gary Moore
- Misty Sold Team at **Better Homes & Gardens** powered by Place
- Jim Sterba

Advocate (\$500 - \$999)

- Peg Armstrong-Gustafson
- Mark Bienhoff & Troy Zwart
- Kevin Chorniak
- Paul E. Dark
- Kelly Ferguson
- Jim Flansburg
- Sharon & Larry Huff
- Scott Kuknyo & Jonathan Wilson
- Deb Madison-Levi
- William Moody
- Michelle & Brad Morford
- **Gary Roberts**
- Rich Rumsev Chris Russell
- Martha Smith
- Curt Stamp
- Jerry Vroegh David Wilfahrt

- Larry Barnett & Bill Jackson
- Roger Bishop
- Michelle Book
- Nathan Coombes & Keith Wirtz
- MJ Dolan
- Debbie & Michael Hubbell
- Fred Lewis
- Patti Pierce
- Michel & Jonathon Pogge-Weaver
- Mary & George Richardson
- Janet & William Mark Rosenbury
- Michael Simonson
- Denise & David Swartz
- Michael Thompson & Allen Vander Linden
- Connie Wimer

Honors (\$100 - \$249)

- Mike Baldwin
- Rich Banyard
- Heather A. Bartz
- **Andrew Brouwer**
- Barbara & John Buck
- Marilyn & Frank Carroll
- Alicia & David Claypool
- Travis Correll
- Brvan Crowder
- **Kurtis Denison &** Robert Warren
- Mark Eikenberry
- David Feinberg
- Ben Hagen
- Ron Hankins & Jim Pech
- Joe Henry
- Harold Hinkhouse
- Shelia & James Hourigan
- Richard Joens & Scott Smith
- Mary Ellen & James Kimball
- Randall Kramer
- Donna MacNeir
- Cvril Ann & John Mandelbaum
- Matt McCoy
- Susan & Brian Moorhead
- John Schmacker
- John Steig
- Jodi & Chris Swailes
- Toni & Tim Urban
- Laura Cean Wilson

Supporter (\$250 - \$499) Donors (Up to \$99)

- Grace & Larry Anderson
- Margaret & Tom Chase
- Chuck Jordan
- Mary & Mark Kacere
- Karen & Aaron Kennedy
- Jennifer Konfrst
- John L'Estrange
- Marcia Malone La Von & Wayne Marshall
- Paulina Ann Massey

In-Kind Services

- Ascendant Wealth Management
- Brig. Gen. David A. Cotton, USAF (Ret)
- Brad Holland & Joe Raetz
- PC Print Center
- John Schmacker
- Tim Schreck
- Nicholas Williams
- Phil Williams

Bequests Funding FFBC Endowment

- Charles Carnes
- Brad Holland & Joe Raetz
- Alfred Miller
- Cliff Paulsen



Scholarship Fundraising Period:

May 2023 - April 2024





Welcome!

First Friday Breakfast Club welcomes you this morning to help us honor 16 amazing lowa high school seniors who have made a big difference in their schools and communities to promote LGBTQ+ acceptance. We celebrate these students for standing up as role models in showing others their authentic selves. Bravo!

First Friday Breakfast Club

First Friday Breakfast Club is an educational forum that embraces the LGBTQ+ community and its allies as members, nourishes meaningful dialogue through monthly speakers, and cultivates young advocates for equity and inclusion by awarding leadership scholarships to graduating lowa high school seniors.



Scholarship Selection Process

Scholarships are awarded to outstanding lowa high school seniors who have distinguished themselves with significant efforts to counter homophobia, promote LGBTQ+ acceptance, and educate their schools and communities on LGBTQ+ issues. Academic achievement and extra-curricular activities are also considered.

About the Scholarship

One-time scholarships of \$3,000 are awarded. Scholarships are paid in two installments upon receipt of the student's proof of enrollment. Awards are made without regard to gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, race, or religion.

2023-24 Scholarship Committee

Ken Hanson (Chair), Kevin Chorniak, David Cotton, Jim Flansburg, Aria Huizenga, Paul Richardson, Chris Russell, and Tim Schreck

Want to Donate?

Help FFBC award even more scholarships next year! The number of scholarships awarded each year depends largely on the funds raised from generous people like you. We are proud that 100% of your gift will go directly to the scholarship program!



Scholarship Winners

Delaney Clark Des Moines Roosevelt High School
Underwriter: Polk County Community Betterment Grant

Trinity Gillis Spencer High School
Underwriters: Phil Brawner & Ted Johnson

AJ Keeler Bondurant-Farrar High School

Elliot Martin Cedar Falls High School

Faith Miller Lisbon High School

Shamiyah Morgan Central DeWitt High School

Luke Mueggenberg Linn-Mar High School

Claire Opdahl Sioux Center High School
Underwriter: Trudy Holman Hurd

Brody Petig Grinnell High School
Underwriter: David A. Cotton

Tyler Pittman Waukee Northwest High School

Owen Schriever Ogden High School
Underwriters: John Charles & David Nelson

Rebekah Schurz Carlisle High School
Underwriter: Jane Ann Cotton

Remi Shaffer Algona High School

Meredith Sherer Woodbine High School

Lauren Wessling Johnston High School
Underwriters: Brad Holland & Joe Raetz in memory of Bonnie Holland

Jasper Wirth Algona High School

