Scholarship Donors

Underwriter (\$3000+)

- · Phil Brawner & Ted Johnson
- Dr. John Carstensen & Scott Valbert
- · John Charles & David Nelson
- Dave & Trudy Holman Hurd
- · Dave & Trudy Holman Hurd, in honor of Tracy Lewis & **Rick Gubbels**
- Garv Moore
- · Community Betterment Grant through Polk County **Board of Supervisors**
- Jim Sterba
- . Dr. Randy M. Swarts

Host (\$1000 - \$2999)

- Jim Anderson & Byron Huff
- Bruce Carr & Robert Thelen
- Tom Coppess & Mike Koch
- Scott Dean
- Ken Hanson & Wade Petersen
- Matt Hiatt & Paul Pettinger
- Gene Larson & David Phelps
- · Christopher Russell
- . Misty Sold Team at **Better Homes & Gardens** Real Estate Innovations
- Curt Stamp

Advocate (\$500 - \$999)

- Anonymous
- Don & Margo Blumenthal
- . Mark Bienhoff & Troy Zwart
- **Kevin Chorniak**
- Nathan Coombes & Keith Wirtz
- · Paul E. Dark, Jr.
- Jim Flansburg
- **Brad Holland & Joe Raetz**
- Michael & Debbie Hubbell
- · Larry & Sharon Huff
- Scott Kuknyo & Jonathan Wilson
- Deb Madison-Levi
- **Gary Roberts**
- Martha Smith
- James Tatro & Dan Venker
- Jerry Vroegh
- David Wilfahrt

Supporter (\$250 - \$499)

- Peg Armstrong-Gustafson
- Larry Barnett & Bill Jackson
- Roger Bishop & David Lauritzen
- Kurtis Denison & Robert Warren
- MJ Dolan
- Ron Hankins & James Pech
- John L'Estrange
- Eric Nemmers
- Matthew Paul
- Michel & Jonathon Pogge-Weaver
- . George W. & Mary A. Richardson
- William Mark & Janet Rosenbury
- Richard Rumsey
- Tim Schreck
- David & Denise Swartz
- Michael Thompson & Allen Vander Linden
- Carl & Susan Voss
- . Mark & Charlene Vukovich
- Ivan & Anne Webber

Honors (\$100 - \$249)

- Todd Ashby & Kerry Walter-Ashby
- Rich Banvard
- Andrew Brouwer
- John Buck
- Tim Burgess & **Bryan Noble**
- John Carr
- David & Alicia Claypool
- Travis Correll
- Shannah Eitter
- Bryan Crowder Ben Hagen
- Harold Hinkhouse
- Richard L. Joens & Scott M. Smith
- Chuck Jordan
- Steve Karlin
- Randall Kramer
- Richard Latch
- Chelsea Lepley
- Fred Lewis
- Donna MacNeir

Honors (\$100 - \$249)

(Continued)

- John & Cyril Ann Mandelbaum
- Matt McCov
- Joan Middleton
- Brian & Susan Moorhead
- Steven Noll
- David Remund
- John Schmacker
- John Steia
- Tim & Toni Urban
- Laura Cean Wilson
- David Yurdin & **Elaine Lundstrom**

Donors (Up to \$99)

- · Larry & Grace Anderson
- Joshua Boggs
- Claire Celsi
- Margaret Chase
- Jack & Leslie Claussen
- Michael Egel
- Kevin Gilchrist
- John & Terri Hale
- Mark & Mary Kacere Dr. James &
- Mary Ellen Kimball Steve Person
- Tim Redmon
- · David Richard Ross

In-Kind Services

- PC Print Center
- John Schmacker
- · Nicholas Williams

Bequests Funding FFBC Endowment

- Charles Carnes
- Brad Holland & Joe Raetz
- Alfred Miller
- Cliff Paulsen



First Friday Breakfast Club **Scholarship** Awards Ceremony Friday, June 6 7:00 a.m. **Hoyt Sherman Place** Des Moines, Iowa Speaker: **Dr. Ian Roberts** Superintendent **Des Moines Public Schools**

Fundraising Period: May 2024 - April 2025



Welcome!

First Friday Breakfast Club welcomes you this morning to help us honor 20 amazing lowa high school seniors who have made a big difference in their schools and communities to promote LGBTQ+ acceptance. We celebrate these students for standing up as role models in showing others their authentic selves. Bravo!

First Friday Breakfast Club

First Friday Breakfast Club is an educational forum that embraces the LGBTQ+ community and its allies as members, nourishes meaningful dialogue through monthly speakers, and cultivates young advocates for equity and inclusion by awarding leadership scholarships to graduating lowa high school seniors.



Scholarship Selection Process

Scholarships are awarded to outstanding lowa high school seniors who have distinguished themselves with significant efforts to counter homophobia, promote LGBTQ+ acceptance, and educate their schools and communities on LGBTQ+ issues. Academic achievement and extra-curricular activities are also considered.

About the Scholarship

One-time scholarships of \$3,000 are awarded. Scholarships are paid in two installments upon receipt of the student's proof of enrollment. Awards are made without regard to gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, race, or religion.

2025 Scholarship Committee

Ken Hanson (Chair), Jim Flansburg, Aria Huizenga, Max Keller, Chelsea Lepley, Kevin Mullins, Jonathon Pogge-Weaver, Paul Richardson, Rich Rumsey, and Chris Russell

Want to Donate?

Help FFBC award even more scholarships next year! The number of scholarships awarded each year depends largely on the funds raised from generous people like you. We are proud that 100% of your gift will go directly to the scholarship program!



Scholarship Winners

Hailey Ankrum Madrid High School
Underwriter: Dr. Randy M. Swarts

Perseus Batista-Pedro Waterloo West High School

Nohle Cooley Waterloo West High School

Noelle Craver Centerville High School

Underwriters: Phil Brawner & Ted Johnson

Isabelle Edge Bondurant-Farrar High School

Baylyn Herring Panorama High School

Olivia Hilby Wahlert Catholic Dubuque High School

Underwriter: Gary Moore

Evan Huegel Ankeny High School

Underwriter: Dave & Trudy Holman Hurd in honor of Tracy Lewis & Rick Gubbels

Katerina Laubengayer Springville High School

Underwriters: Dr. John Carstensen & Scott Valbert

Liam Madison North Polk High School

Pez Owens Cedar Rapids High School

Tobi Pinegar Lynnville-Sully High School

Gyasilyn Purdy English Valleys High School

Cassie Schebel West Des Moines Valley High School

Grayson Shonka Bondurant-Farrar High School

Underwriter: Jim Sterba

Kylee Shoop North Linn High School

Underwriter: Dave & Trudy Holman Hurd

Cameron Smith Des Moines Roosevelt High School

Underwriter: Polk County Board of Supervisors

Eidann Squires Graettinger-Terril High School

Landon Stanley Marshalltown High School

Zachary Struth Interstate 35 High School

Underwriters: John Charles & David Nelson

